Red Lipstick for Maximum Dark Under-Eye Coverage

Today, in a Christian Ladies group on Facebook that I’m a member of, a tutorial for dark under-eye coverage was posted. What caught my eye, and made this particular tutorial special, was that the lady in the video used red lipstick to aid in covering it up!

 

“How in the world does that work?”

Turns out, make up artists use color neutralizers (or, color correcter’s) to help neutralizer discolorations on your skin, such as dark spots or redness. In the video above, she uses red lipstick, a frugal alternative to buying actual color neutralizer products, to help conceal her dark under-eye circles.

Red works best for those who have dark skin tones, but I have read where women with fair skin have used this method successfully.

I have dark under-eye circles, and while concealer helps, it doesn’t do a whole lot in covering them up. So, I decided to give this a shot! (Especially since I had bought marked down red lipstick that I never really planned on ever using. Lol)

Prepare to get close and personal with my face.

What I Used

  • e.l.f. Eyeshadow “C” Brush
  • Wet n Wild Fergie  Lipstick (“Old School Glam” a037)
  • e.l.f. Maximum Coverage Concealer (Nude)
  • e.l.f. Moisturizing Foundation Stick (Natural)
  • Neutrogena Shine Control Powder
  • e.l.f. Powder Bronzer (Warm)
  • e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit (Medium)
  • Neutrogena Healthy Volume Mascara (Black/Brown 03)

IMG_2631

 Before.

Blending the red lipstick around my eyes, focusing under my eyes, and the outside corner of my eyes where it's the darkest.
Blending the red lipstick around my eyes, focusing under my eyes, and the outside corner of my eyes where it’s the darkest.

My right eye with concealer added on top of the red lipstick.

 My right eye with concealer added on top of the red lipstick.

Compare...

Compare…

...and contrast.

…and contrast.

My left eye with concealer. It looks a little wonky because I got concealer on my eyelashes. Lol

My left eye with concealer. It looks a little wonky because I got concealer on my eyelashes. Lol

IMG_2642

Another view.

IMG_2647

After some additional blending, touch up, a bit of foundation around the edges, bronzer, and translucent powder.

The final results…

IMG_2655-0 IMG_2652-0IMG_2659-0

I have to say that I’m happy with the results! Initially, after I finished applying concealer and was finishing up my routine, I did notice that around my eyes looked a little red. A small application of additional concealer helped with that, but I determined that next time if I used a little less of the lipstick, I wouldn’t have that problem. My skin tone isn’t too dark, so I shouldn’t need that much.

I’d say go ahead and give it a try. Be careful, and test your skin for irritations first. Let me know what you think!

4 comments

  1. This is amazing. I would of never ever thought this! WOW. I will be trying this. I have very large dark circles and would love to try. I hope it works but I have light skin with a slight olive tent. I hope it works! Thank you for sharing this so bravely 😉 It looks great on you!

    1. Thank you! I appreciate that. I wore it to church that night, and I was rather self-conscious, but no one said anything! I have my bold moments. lol If the red lipstick doesn’t work, or is too heavy for you, try an orange or peach tone. I watched another video on YT, and she tried peach, and it worked a lot better. I am going to look into purchasing a corrector for my right skin tone, and do a comparison to the red lipstick. I might stick with the red lipstick for a while, since I have so much to use up, lol.

  2. This is a crazy-cool trick! Thanks for the post! :*

    1. You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

