How To Remove Grease Stains

stain

One problem with cooking and eating a lot of butter, coconut oil, bacon grease, etc. is you have a tendency to stain up your clothing. Or, at least, I do. Sure, this could be avoided by wearing an apron, or old clothing when cooking, but that’s beside the point. (Or is it?) Just this past week I managed to stain up three shirts and a skirt. Of course, they’re the ones I wear all the time and love.

I’m still learning some of the domestic arts, such as stain removal. I normally don’t bother with it. To my horror, I realized that I might have thrown out one of my favorite skirts on a whim since it had a stain on it. I use the word “might” since I don’t have a clear memory of it, and it very well could be hidden somewhere in my room. I wouldn’t be surprised if I did throw the skirt out..since I have very limited knowledge on dealing with stains.

Praise the Lord, I do have some friends who are more knowledgeable about these things and have been influencing me for the better. This time, instead of walking around with stains on my clothing, hiding them away, or tossing them out (lol), I decided to seek wise counsel from a friend, and Pinterest. I came up with an instructional from the blog “We Got Real” on how to remove grease stains.

20140116-170430.jpg

This is a shirt I received for Christmas. Just three weeks after getting it, I either spilled butter or cod liver oil on it. I didn’t notice the stain until AFTER I washed it. You should treat a stain as soon as possible, that much I know. I did try to wash the shirt three more times..that didn’t work obvious. lol

20140116-170437.jpgYou wet the stain with water, squirt some dish detergent on top, and then scrub with a toothbrush.

20140116-170448.jpg

Sprinkle some baking soda on top, and scrub again. This time in a more gentle manner since baking soda is more abrasive.

20140116-170458.jpg

Throw it into the wash on Hot/Cold cycle, and tada! The stain is gone! It worked beautifully, if I may say so!

It was super easy, fast, and efficient. I’m so happy this worked. I’m more encouraged and inspired to try out different stain removing methods, and to be more proactive at removing them, and PREVENTING them.

If you give this method a try, let me know how it works by leaving a comment! If you have another method you prefer to use, let me know below!

2 comments

  1. I always rub stains with a Fels Naptha bar – using it something like an eraser on the wet fabric. It really works!

    1. I need to get myself a bar! I know it can be used in detergent recipes, but I normally use a castile soap bar for that. Thanks for the tip! Good to know that it works!

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

