Pressin’ On through Life

Blogember 13: An epiphany you had this summer.

Oh, boy. I should have written this earlier.

I don’t really know if I had an epiphany this past summer. Summer’s are normally pretty stable for our family. Late summer became busier this year, but fall is always our “summer.”

I love summer, but then again, it’s my least favorite season. I hate dressing for it. I like being able to layer my clothes, and throw on a coat or jacket when I go on a walk. (I love walking in the cooler seasons.) Then again, I do love the feeling of the heat. The consistent green environment that surrounds me. Sun-touched skin. “Freedom.”

Summer, for me, is a neutral. Nothing significant really ever happens. I tend to just enjoy life, and wade in the shallow end of the pool.

wildone1

Every other season, on the other hand, typically bears some sort of significance.

Spring brings education and learning.

Fall brings sentimental, emotional, and spiritual changes, and battles.

Winter is reflective and meditative.

Summer gives me a break.

With each season that comes into my life, I have a choice; grow closer to the Lord, or wander away. Unfortunately, I’ve often chosen the latter more than I like to admit. It’s a very easy to do. It’s pleasurable in the sense that it’s selfish. I would try to deal with it in my own way, with my own control, and in my own independence. Due to pride, I never noticed how thick in the mud I’d had gotten until it was too late.

The Lord, for reasons beyond me, continues to show me grace, mercy and forgiveness. Each time I fall, he’s willing to help me up. Now, I try to choose getting closer. There’s no better way.

I had a thought as I was on my walk this morning, and I looked at my shadow. I wasn’t listening to any music, and the neighborhood was silent. I imagined that my walking was an example of my walking with the Lord. I kept an even pace, and the journey was easy going, for now. Oh, but here came a bump. There’s a crack. A pile of leaves. I tripped. The sidewalk ran out. Now a crosswalk.

I paused, and looked at the four directions I could choose. Continuing on straight would be the best path, though not easy (walking straight into the bitter wind), but it’s the path that was intended for me. I could take a left or a right, but it’s not necessarily the right way. I would end up in the same place but it’d just take longer, if I didn’t get lost. Then there was the choice to turn right back around, and never get any further than where I was currently at.

I looked both ways for any oncoming cars, and then walked across the street, following out the path that was decided for me.

As Christians, we need to keep moving forward. We must, “..press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:14)

I hope and pray that I continue to move forward in my walk with the Lord. That no matter how hard the journey gets, that I’m still able to put one foot right in front of the other. That I won’t become distracted, go backwards, or worse..keep at a stand still.

It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.” Psalm 18:32

I suppose my summer epiphany was that I still have a long ways to go in this journey with Christ.

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

