Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Blogember 5:ย Share a favorite recipe.

chocopancake

One of my favorite breakfasts is chocolate chip pancakes. My favorite way to eat them is plain; maybe with a little butter on top. I find the chocolate makes the pancake rich enough for me to enjoy by itself. The rest of my family prefers it topped with peanut butter and maple syrup.

I found this recipe a while ago; I have no credit for it. I believe I merged two recipes together. Sorry! lol

I cook these pancakes on cast iron, so this recipe is geared for that. If you do not own or use cast iron to make pancakes, you may need to adjust or leave out some instructions. Of course, you can always leave out the chocolate chips, or add other ingredients. :]

Chocolate Chip Pancakes

1 1/2 Cups of All-Purpose Flour
3 1/2 tsp. of Baking Powder
1 tsp. Salt
1 tbsp. Sugar (opt.)
1 1/4 cup of Milk
1 egg
3 tbsp. melted Butter
Chocolate Chips

  1. Heat cast iron skillet on stove top at medium heat. Add butter to melt while it is heating. (This will help create a non-stick surface on the skillet, as well.)
  2. Sift the dry ingredients together; make a well and add milk, egg, chocolate chips and melted butter from cast iron skillet. Return the skillet to the stove top. Make sure butter is slightly cooled so it doesn’t cook the egg. I don’t use an exact amount of chocolate chips each time; typically I just eye it and add until I’m satisfied, lol. A tip I received from Homestead Blessings is to fold the mixture, and not beat or mix it all together. It does create a better batter. So fold the mixture until combined; don’t over do it!
  3. Scoop a large spoonful (ice cream scoop, ladle, etc.) on the heated skillet. Heat until bubbles form; occasionally check the bottom. I notice this batter doesn’t bubble as much as other recipes I’ve used. Flip. Cook until the bottom is browned to satisfaction.
  4. Enjoy! Top with butter, peanut butter, whipped cream, maple syrup, banana’s, etc. Whatever suits you!

I hope you’re satisfied with the recipe if you decide to give it a try! It doesn’t make a whole lot, but you can easily double or triple the recipe. The batter will be thicker than what normal pancake batter looks like. Tamper with the recipe; experiment!

Comment if you try it, or have some pancake making tips!

5 comments

  1. Yum! I like the idea of just butter on top. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Good enough to be a dessert! But I’ll still classify it has “breakfast.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. That looks so good! Thanks for making me crave a non-gluten-free thing. ๐Ÿ˜› I guess I could make it gluten-free ๐Ÿ˜›

    1. You probably could!! lol

  3. […] Chocolate Chip Pancakes (writtenforourlearning.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

