✿ Songs Encouraging Virtue ✿ {Singleness}

wfolsev

Being single, I have to choose my music wisely. If I indulge in a love song, it creates a domino effect in my life. The songs begin to stir discontentment and day dreaming in my heart. I take my eyes off of the prize (Phil. 3:14) and become distracted and vulnerable.

Music does more than just make pretty sounds in your ear. It enters your mind; fills your heart; and touches your soul. The music is sending a message to your being, and, whether you realize it or not, the message is being delivered.

To think, “Oh, this is generally harmless, why not listen?” can be very dangerous. You must “keep thy heart with all diligence, for out of it are the issues of life.” (Proverbs 4:23)

I’m not saying that love or romance songs are wrong. There is a time and place for all things. (Ecclesiastes 3) I am not encouraging legalism, or saying that my convictions should be your convictions. What I am doing is giving a warning to all of those reading. I have indulged; I have listened; I have experienced; and I have learned.

I choose to be selective.

As unmarried women, we must keep in mind what Paul told the Corinthians,

“But I would have you without carefulness. He that is unmarried careth for the things that belong to the Lord, how he may please the Lord: But he that is married careth for the things that are of the world, how he may please his wife. There is difference also between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman careth for the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit: but she that is married careth for the things of the world, how she may please her husband. And this I speak for your own profit; not that I may cast a snare upon you, but for that which is comely, and that ye may attend upon the Lord without distraction.” 1 Corinthians 7:32-35

I wish do not to become distracted from the Lord. I want my music selections to reflect that.

I have a YouTube playlist that I have created. I’ll be continually adding to it, but these are the songs that I have found comfort and encouragement from in my time of singleness. Some of these are fairly new to me; others are dear, old friends.

You may not agree with every song I have chosen, but please use this as a guide. This is not “the” list. My reasons for choosing these songs do not have to be your reasons. Think and decide for yourself, but feel free to glean from my playlist.

In the past I have shared different passages from scripture that I believe help me choose what I listen to, but a recent favorite of mine has to be from Ephesians 5.

“Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ..” Ephesians 5:19-20

90% of my music are psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. I find when I listen to them, they make a melody in my heart and cause me to sing to the Lord. They come to me at the right times. My current favorites are “Sweet Will of God“, “Abide With Me“, and “Day by Day.”

The other 10% are songs that, while they are not necessarily spiritual songs, I feel that, within the right context, encourage the things of the Bible.

“To Whom it May Concern” and “I’ve Got a Friend” by the Civil Wars are an example. The two songs are about looking forward to the day of meeting that person that the Lord has in mind for you. (My own take from the songs.) For some, these songs need to be avoided like the plague. I myself only choose to listen to them on certain occasions. The reason they are on the list , however, is because I wanted to share them, and give other young women an option and an alternative to most romance songs.

I hope these songs give you encouragement in your season of singleness. Enjoy every moment; be content; and keep your eyes heavenward. You never know when that all might change.

If you have any music you wish to share, please leave a comment or send me a message! Subscribe to my playlist if you wish to keep up with future additions; I know there will be plenty more to add.

“Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another, even as also ye do.” 1 Thess. 5:11

2 comments

  1. Your video link says “This video does not exist”

    1. Which link are you speaking of?

      EDIT: I have corrected the mistake! It will not allow me to embed the actual playlist; please forgive me.

      Here is the link to the playlist I was referencing to: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLmFeZ8qoObChwf_1B6h1O7dTR8TLeq7XB

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

