Psalm 32

rainbowscrip

Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Blessed is the man unto whom the Lord imputeth not iniquity and in whose spirit there is no guile.” v. 1-2

Recently in my church group on Facebook, someone asked the question, “Is sin, transgression, and iniquity all the same thing?” My Dad, the the pastor of the Church and administrator of the Facebook group, replied, paraphrasing a quote from J. Vernon McGee;

1. Iniquity is that which is altogether wrong in and of itself.
2. Transgression is willfully disobeying God.
3. Sin is missing the mark not coming up to Gods standard.

The Bible says that we were shapen in iniquity. (Psalm 51:5) It also says that “sin is the transgression of the law.” (1 John 3:4)

My step-mother shared a passage from Exodus 34, to aid in answering the question.

“And the LORD passed by before him, and proclaimed, The LORD, The LORD God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abundant in goodness and truth, Keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, and that will by no means clear the guilty; visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children, and upon the children’s children, unto the third and to the fourth generation.” Exodus 34:6-7

..merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abundant in goodness and truth..

Another commenter made reference to Psalms 32:5.

“I acknowledged my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the LORD; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah.”

Salvation is the greatest gift. Praise the Lord for His tender love and mercy. I am forever thankful of God giving His only begotten Son to sacrifice Himself and to bear our sins, becoming our salvation. (Romans 10:9)

For verse 5 my Bible references to 1 John 1:9. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

I sometimes allow myself to become distracted to the point where I neglect my prayer life. I knock the Bible down on my priorities list. During those times, it seems that I wait until I’m at a place where I am breaking before I collapse at His feet, seeking His face once again. (Psalm 105:4)

When reading the Old Testament with my family, we would read how the Israelites would fall away from the Lord; repent; and then shortly thereafter fall away, again. I found it to be aggravating to read the rebel-repent-rebel scenario over and over again. Later I realized, personally, that in my own journey with the Lord I am not much different.

How many people do you know who go through spiritual highs to only jump off the boat when the smallest discomfort comes their way? Or something makes them comfortable to the point that they lose sight? Or to only have their weak faith become shaken by a tragedy of some sort, which leads to the hardening of their heart?

For this shall everyone that is godly pray unto thee in a time when thou mayest be found: surely in the floods of great waters they shall not come night unto him. ” vs. 6a

I think of Matthew 7:24-27, and the hymn “The Solid Rock“.

“On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.”

I want my foundation to be strong. To stand upon the word of God. To have the Lord as my rock and my fortress. (Psalm 18:2) His word is quick, powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword. (Hebrews 4:12) Through His strength (Philippians 4:13), and only through Him, am I able to keep my head above water.

The Bible says, “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” (2 Timothy 3:16) If the Lord loves you, correction and chastisement will appear in your journey with Him. (Hebrews 12:6; Proverbs 3:12) As His children, we shouldn’t detest the Lord’s discipline. (Proverbs 3:11)

The fool despises wisdom and instruction (Proverbs 1:7), hates knowledge (Proverbs 1:22), takes no delight in understanding (Proverbs 18:2).

Someone who is wise loves reproof (Proverbs 9:8); receives commandments (Proverbs 10:8); hearkens unto counsel (Proverbs 12:15); and seeks knowledge (Proverbs 18:15).

To do the work of the Lord, I must “mortify the deeds of the flesh.” (Romans 8:13)

“..but he that trusteth in the Lord, mercy shall compass him about. Be glad in the Lord, and rejoice, ye righteous: and should for joy, all ye that are upright in heart.” vs. 10b-11

One of my favorite Proverbs is Proverbs 3:5-6. “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

I hope to continually pray and meditate that I might not drift away from the Lord as often as I have. That I might only grow stronger and closer. I mustn’t just hope this, but I must simply do.

scallopedBorder10

This was written roughly a month ago. I very much appreciate and cherish Psalm 32. It contains the themes of salvation, redemption, and forgiveness; all very near and dear to a believer.

These were my thoughts and meditations on this passage, and I felt led to share them. I allowed it to sit in my drafts for a while, but felt that now might be a good time to allow it’s public appearance to be made.

Feel free to comment and let me know your thoughts, or concerns. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

