Cannin’ Butter and Bein’ Ladies

The other day, a dear friend of mine, Anne, and I decided to can some of her Amish butter.

IMG_2485

Anne orders from a local food co-op monthly, and it seems that she’s regularly getting Amish butter. (I don’t blame her none. I mean, that stuff is semi-solid gold.) She normally sticks them in the freezer to preserve them (since the order comes in bulk), but we wanted to try out another method of preservation.

IMG_2468

Browsing through Pinterest, I saw a method of preserving butter through canning. I eagerly shared it with Anne, thinking this would be a great project for her (she’s somewhat of a prepper). Onto her Facebook page it went!

She replied, “I will invite you over to help when I get ready to try this!”

And that’s exactly what happened.

IMG_2474

We used two blocks of Amish butter (I think). We only ended up with one jar of butter. What was funny is we originally thought “Oh no, we may need more jars!” I had only brought two jars, and Anne only had one. It was a humbling experience (you’d think it’d be more!), and a reminder for me to practice my judgements on sizes and weights. I’ve never been good at that stuff.

Anne let me try out her first batch of strawberry jam! Super good!

Anne let me try out her first batch of strawberry jam! Super good!

I am so glad to be given the opportunity to get together with dear friends once in a while and to do some old time activities. Canning, sewing, cleaning, cooking, etc. Some might view these things to be mundane, but I view them as fun (but productive).

Skimming the foam off.

Skimming the foam off.

I can tell you that the smell was heavenly. The butter was salted. Two of my favorite things simmering in a pot right before my eyes..!

IMG_2480

Anne kept the left over melted butter and the foam. I took the jar home with me. Canned butter can keep to up to three years, supposedly. It was a very simple process. It’d clear some room up in your freezer. And who doesn’t love home-canned goods sitting in the pantry?

If I ever land a good deal on butter, or find myself overwhelmed with it (seems impossible right now, but it may happen) I do plan on giving this another go! No water-bathing, pessure canning, no additional ingredients… And it didn’t take very long at all.

And the important part: It tasted GOOD!

d1

Anne and I recently opened an online shop “Back to Basics Mercantile“. Anne’s dream is to have her own General Store. She figures that an online shop is the next best thing! I’m willing to participate; selling some of my books, and trying my hand at becoming more productive with the things I specialize in. It gives us an outlet.

We hope to feature a few other items from other friends and loved ones in the future, so keep an eye out for that!

Back to Basics has a Facebook page, a Twitter, a Pinterest, and an Instagram. Regardless if you plan on becoming a “customer”, please considering giving our shop a look-see, and consider following us through our different social media sites. We’d like to reach like-minded folks. We’d really appreciate it, and any advice or feedback you have to give!

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

