Old Fashioned Southern Banana Pie!

Pinterest is just full of goodies and treats, isn’t it? You can’t escape spending some time on Pinterest without running into recipes that look positively delectable, and you can’t help but develop nagging cravings and then binging on some kind of treat in your house even though it’s not as good as what you saw on Pinterest.

I mean seriously.

But sometimes, you don’t need Pinterest. Sometimes all you need is a Dad who has a Facebook and knows how to share yummy things onto your FB, giving sly hints as to why he shared it. In this particular case that I’m leading up to, it was “Old Fashioned Banana Pudding“.

He got on his knees, begged, cried a little (not really) requesting that I make this for church that Sunday. I decided to agree to it. I mean, it would be the nice thing to do. Right?

Anyways, let’s get down to business.

What You Need:

  • 1 Cup of Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup of Flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups milk (WHOLE)
  • 4-5 bananas, ripe
  • 1 box of Vanilla Wafers
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp. butter (not margarine)
  • 4 egg yolks

Meringue:

  • 4 egg whites, room temperature
  • 5 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Instructions:

First off, preheat your oven to 375°F.

IMG_1375

Layer the wafers on your selected pan. I doubled the recipe, which calls for a bigger pan.

IMG_1377

Combine your sugar, salt, and flour; mix well. Set aside.

IMG_1379Next, separate your eggs. The best method to do this is to get down and dirty, using your hands to separate the yolk from the whites, instead of using the egg shell. It’s the best method I have tried, and the yolk never breaks. Set the egg whites aside. While you’re following out the rest of the recipe, it”ll give the egg whites time to get to room temperature.

Beat the egg yolks well, and pour into a heavy bottom sauce pan. Turn the burner onto medium heat, and add the flour mixture to the egg yolks, alternating with the milk and vanilla, stirring constantly.

Now here’s where my instructions differ with the original. My pudding did NOT come to a boil. As a result, it thickened wayyyy too much. Regardless if it comes to a boil or not, keep an eye on the thickness and texture.

The texture of my pudding freaked me out at first, because it started to become really clumpy. I felt doom in my chest, thinking the recipe was ruined. It was also getting harder to stir. But I was determined not to fail, so I took a deep breath, and proceeded with the rest of the instructions. Next time, I won’t worry about it boiling. (Unless it does actually come to a boil.)

IMG_1381

Once I added the butter, it smoothed out immediately. Relief.

If your pudding begins to boil, or thickens, add the butter. Keep on stirring. Once the mixture reaches a pudding consistency, remove from heat.

IMG_1382

Slice your bananas (thin, thick, whichever fits your preference) and layer them onto of the vanilla wafers. Take half the pudding, layer it on top of the bananas and the wafers. Repeat.

Now comes the meringue! This was my first experience making some.

IMG_1384

Beat the egg whites at high speed until they form soft peaks. I think I beat mine too long, but it still worked out in the end. Once the soft peaks are achieved, add the cream of tartar. Beating at high speed, slowly add the sugar, a tablespoon at a time. I would slowly sprinkle it, not dump it all at once to avoid a big mess. Beat until stiff peaks form.

IMG_1385

Let’s get a close up of this pretty little mess.

Fold in the vanilla. Spread meringue over the pudding pie, sealing in the sides. (Very important.)

IMG_1386

Lift the spatula up from the meringue to get a signature look. Or whatever. Get creative.

IMG_1387

Stick it in the oven until the meringue browns; about 12-15 minutes.

IMG_1388

Mine browned a little more than desired. I forgot to set the oven to “bake” so it wasn’t at full heat, so it sat in the oven for 20 minutes not browning at all. After I fixed the mistake, I forgot about it….at least it didn’t burn.

And there ya go! It smelled delicious. Looked delicious. But alas, it was for church. So I didn’t get to taste it in all its glory.

Tip: This does not make for a good “next day” dessert. It’s best straight out of the oven. It became somewhat watery, and the banana’s browned and looked gross. It tasted super good though. Very, very rich.

My Grandparents had taken me to a lodge to eat dinner once, and there they had awesome banana pie, just like this. That’s why I KNOW it is better straight out of the oven. It was so worth the time, and I will definitely do this again.

This would be a great dessert for guests. It’s pretty simple, cheap, and impressive, without much effort. Now to find a meal that is up to par with this dessert..

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

