✿ Songs Encouraging Virtue ✿ {Beginning of the Series}

VIRTUE, n. vur’tu. [L. virtus, from vireo, or its root. See Worth.]
3. Moral goodness; the practice of moral duties and the abstaining from vice, or a conformity of life and conversation to the moral law. In this sense, virtue may be, and in many instances must be, distinguished from religion. The practice of moral duties merely from motives of convenience, or from compulsion, or from regard to reputation, is virtue, as distinct from religion. The practice of moral duties from sincere love to God and his laws, is virtue and religion.

Sex. Hedonism. Vulgarity. Promiscuity.

Turn on the TV, you see it.

Turn on the radio, and you’ll hear it.

Check out at the grocery store, you’re surrounded by it.

It seems hard to escape nowadays. While most people try to filter through it, the best method to avoid it all is to turn it off, or turn the other way.

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things [are] just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things [are] of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

I have been collecting a personal collection of songs that promote “things of good report” for a little while now. Sometime last year, I forget specifically when, I was listening to a sermon on Sermon Audio (I do not recall the specific sermon) and it convicted me to take the music I listened to more seriously. My Dad has always taught my sisters and I to pay attention to the lyrics of songs and to not listen to sinful things, but I found a lot of the songs I had in possession weren’t necessarily of a Philippians 4:8 nature.

I like Country Music. It’s all American, can promote good morality, and speaks to my roots. But not all Country is like that. In fact, I would argue that a majority of it is no different than other popular secular music. I mean really, when they’re not using farm machines and tools as euphemisms for things of a sexual nature, they’re talking about drunkenness, partying,”badonadonks”, promiscuous relationships, reminiscing on their reckless and irresponsible teenage years, and proudly acting as a sinner with a little church on the side.

While the country songs and other music that I had on my mp3 were not necessarily quite that bad, the main theme to most of them was either focused on self or about “love”. As someone who is trying to be selfless and not awaken love before its time (Songs 3:5), I began to question why I had these songs and why I listened to them. I mean, really? For what reasons made these songs acceptable for me to listen to?

Were these songs glorifying the things of God or were they not? Was I listening to them to satisfy the desires of my flesh? Did I have them for the point of conformity?

With the conviction fresh in my chest after listening to the sermon, I whipped out my mp3 and cleared house. I went from over 1,000 songs to just 300. When it was all said and done, I felt that perhaps this was pleasing to God, and as a result I felt refreshed and at peace. My mp3 now mostly consisted of hymns or songs of praise, songs of good morality, or songs about a respectful kind of love.

I do like finding new music, but with this new perspective, I am finding it especially difficult to find appropriate songs to add on my collection! I mean, before I thought it was hard when I just avoided the real bad songs! You can’t even really depend on a single artist! One minute they’re sweet and innocent, the next they’re out to prove everyone that they’re not Mr./Miss Goody-Two-Shoes.

For the sake of others who may be like myself, or for parents seeking for good music for their children, I would like to share some songs that are pure, honest, lovely, and of good report. This is going to be a continual series for Written For Our Learning! I have no exact plan on when new additions to the series will be posted, but I hope to have a steady rate coming for a little while. Got some outlines forming in my noggin’!

wfolsev

If you would like more information on as to why we should be careful and selective with our music choices, please consider watching the Hells Bells 2 (the more recent edition) documentary, available on YouTube, and consider the Scripture. (Colossians 3:16; Ephesians 5:19-21; Romans 12:9; 1 Thessalonians 5:22)

I hope you will join me in discovering music worth listening to, and will find it to be worthy enough to add to your own collection.

“Virtue is nothing but voluntary obedience to truth.” ~ Noah Webster

4 comments

  1. I look forward to reading your posts!

    I have struggled in the past with what kind of music to listen to. On the one side, I agree that a lot of songs are not beneficial, but on the other side, I don’t want to get stuck in the “if you listen to this you’re sinning” bandwagon. God doesn’t state “you shall not listen to country music”. So I’ve tried to avoid secular music as much as possible (and in particular NOT support artists who are in major sin).

    Something you might find of interest is Andrew Pudewa’s cd on Music and the Brain. He showed the scientific link between certain music and violence.

    1. I’m in the same boat!

      I love country music, and still enjoy it. But I’m just more selective about it.

      We’re blessed to have a God of grace, mercy, and understanding! We can only do our best. Just as we are human, so are the artists creating the music. While it seems you can’t depend on one artist, there are artists who create some good, wholesome music to enjoy, thankfully!

      While a lot of things aren’t very specific in the Bible (the issue of modesty, for example), what causes us to change our methods is our motive. Like I said in my post, you can listen to music, but is it giving God the glory?

      Another thing to think about are songs of lust. It’s a sin (adultery) to have lust in your heart for someone else (unmarried), so why would you listen to a song about lust? Perhaps it is not a sin to listen to it, but could you do better? It may become a stumbling for you block in the future.

      Thank you so much, I’ll definitely check it out! Something similar to that was shown in the Hells Bells documentary. Hells Bells is somewhat outdated, though. Published in 2004.

      Thank you for the feedback! It is greatly appreciated!

      Many Blessings.
      Moriah Jordan Miller

  2. Did you put a list of songs up somewhere? I’d like to know the ones you’ve kept.

    1. Yes, I do! I plan on posting some periodically, and some artists that I enjoy and prefer. I’ve had some computer problems, but I believe they should be resolved by the end of this weekend.

      My apologies for the delay!

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

