Who will be my Role Model?

For this month on Instagram, I decided to join a photo challenge. Each day brings a new theme, in which you then must provide a picture for.

I have joined multiple photo challenges before, but I never completed them. I only managed a week or so with the in February. One of my goals for this year is to develop discipline. So, with that in mind, I decided that for this month I WILL finish the challenge. Granted, there are days where I may not get to it that exact day, but I always complete it the next day along with the new theme. Almost half-way through the month and I’m still going strong.

Some of the subjects so far have been simple things like “Pets”, “Friends”, and “Favorite Song”. Themes like these shouldn’t take more than five minutes for you to finish. However, I can be rather indecisive and/or ignorant when it comes the theme. Day 7 was “Favorite Color”. I do not have a favorite color. So what did I do? I took a (self-proclaimed) artistic picture of a ceiling fan, and stated, “I have no favorite color.” Thinking back now, I probably could have taken a picture of multiple colors and made it more relevant to the theme, but at the time that was the best I could do.

March 13th’s theme was one of those indecisive, deep thought, days.

Day 13: Role Model

Who in the world could be my Role Model? You’d think I’d have this somewhat figured out, since I do have some general goals in my life, and I do live a life on a road less traveled on, in this day in age at least. But I don’t really have a role model.

Sure, I have some people in my life that I admire. Such as;

Johnny Cash. (Go ahead, laugh.)
Women of the faith, such as Corrie Ten Boom and Elisabeth Elliot.
Peter Ruckman.
Noah Hutchings.
Anne Frank.
Rose Wilder Lane’s name is slowly appearing on this list, as well.

I also have men and women that are in my life that I admire and look up to. I do have a few women mentors to follow. But all of these people are human. (That’s part of the reason why I admire them.)

All of them have made their own share of mistakes. They have fallen plenty of times. They have failed. They have their dark pasts, and their own issues. By the grace of God, they can all be forgiven, but they’ll still be human.

“Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help.” Psalm 146:3

I try not to put man on a pedestal. I am no better than any of them. Looking at myself, I feel unworthy of any sort of praise. I fail plenty. I fall short all the time. I’m broken. I’m a sinner.

But like I said mentioned above, by the grace of God, I am forgiven. I am a child of the King. I am to live everyday for Him. My own self dying daily, for His glory. He gives me chance, after chance, after chance, after CHANCE. His constant love for me is always felt. I can always go to Him. He hears my prayers. He knows my wants and needs; my thoughts and my actions. The past, future, and the now. He is omniscient. He is the Almighty God. He is the Creator and the Savior. He is, “I am.” (1 John 1:9; Romans 8:16-17; Galatians 2:20; 1 Corinthians 15:31; 1 John 3:1; Job 37:23; Exodus 3:6)

Who else can I look up to, and model myself after, than Christ?

“For what glory is it, if, when ye be buffeted for your faults, ye shall take it patiently? but if, when ye do well, and suffer for it, ye take it patiently, this is acceptable with God. For even hereunto were ye called: because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that ye should follow his steps: Who did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth: Who, when he was reviled, reviled not again; when he suffered, he threatened not; but committed himself to him that judgeth righteously: Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed. For ye were as sheep going astray; but are now returned unto the Shepherd and Bishop of your souls.” 1 Peter 2:20-25

For the challenge’s subject of “Role Model”, I chose the Bible.

scripture

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.” John 1:1

“For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

“All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” 1 Timothy 3:16-17

I wish to model myself after scripture. To know, obey, and love God’s commandments. To gain in understanding and wisdom. To hide His word in my heart, that I might not sin against Him. (Psalm 119:11) I want to do all of this for His glory, and to leave the best legacy and witness I can for Him.

People have failed me, and they continue to do so. Vice versa, I have failed people, and will continue to do so. Human nature (sin nature) still exists. Until the Lord calls us home, and we put on our glorified bodies, this will be a fact of our mortal lives.

I will build my foundation upon the Rock. (Psalm 18:2) My hope lies in Him. (Psalm 39:7) He will never fail me. (Deuteronomy 31:6) He is always there; omnipresent. (Jeremiah 23:24)

Who else can I look up to?

“Where could I go,
where could I go?
Seeking a refuge for my soul.
Needing a friend to help me in the end,
Where could I go but to the Lord?”

One comment

  1. Halia · · Reply

    Hello, Moriah! I’m so pleased that you have made Christ your role model. I have done the same, unlike this lost world who lives in the darkness, blinded by Satan and doing the works of the flesh that leads to death. People are just as in the days of Noah, taking no note in these “last days”. In Noah’s day people were eating, drinking, getting married, but cared nothing for Noah’s message. They were swept away in the flood. (Matt. 24:37-39). Our greatest role model is Christ. He reflected perfectly the qualities and knowledge of Jehovah God, and gave his life that we might live forever under his Kingdom Rulership. I dedicated my life to Jehovah in 1981. And I too have no dealings with “worldly” conduct. Soon, God’s great war of Armageddon will annihilate the wicked and the “meek” ones will be the ONLY people left on earth in a perfect paradise! (Psalms 37). I am both lame and visually impaired. But, Isaiah 35:5,6 tells me I will walk and see without any impairments!! My favorite saying is “Read The Bible Daily!” I love your website. Keep up the good work always taking in knowledge of God that you may know the whole Truth that sets you free!

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

