Trials and Temptation

sin

Every single day, without fail, temptation is found in my path.

I think all is well, that I’m doing fine. I’m praying, I’m studying the Word, and I feel strong. But right in front of me I find temptation.

I stand there, staring. “To fall into it, or to fight against it?” is what I ask myself.

I have to do SOMETHING, because until I deal with this temptation, it’ll block my path. If I ignore it, and sneak past it, it’ll just follow me, until it can grab a hold of me again.

Many times, I succumb to the temptation. It’s easiest just to fall into it, and get it over with. I can move on afterward, but I find I’m a little more wounded; a little more blinded; a little more dazed.

Once in a while I manage up the strength to say a firm, “No.” And stomp on it. Other times, with a generally weak and shaking body, I run past it, not looking back.

But I do fail.

“Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Matthew 26:41

I will admit, that while I think I’m doing a good job in my journey, I’m not really.

Normally, when I fall into a temptation, I’m not reading as I should be. (2 Timothy 3:16-17) I hadn’t been praying like I ought. (1 Thessalonians 5:1+6) I had been neglecting God; becoming too comfortable in my own skin. Thinking, “Hey, I got this.”

I am constantly having to remind myself that every day I live is not for myself, but for the Lord. (Galatians 2:20) That this body is not mine, but God’s. (1 Corinthians 6:19) This life is a battlefield, and the battle is not yet done.

I am weak, but my God is strong. (Psalm 89:8) Through Him I can conquer the temptations and trials in my life. (Luke 1:37)

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

It’s not God’s fault that there’s temptation in my life. And it’s not God’s fault when I surrender myself to it.

“But God is faithful,” Aren’t those words beautiful?

“Who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able;” He is not a cruel God.

“but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

With the Lord’s strength, growing stronger in Him, I hope to conquer the temptations in my life. I’ll never be perfect, but I sure can be better than I am now.

I ask the Lord for forgiveness, repent, and continue on the journey.

I thank the Lord for His grace and mercy, and humble myself before Him.

And my prayer, continually, is this;

“Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way?
by taking heed thereto according to thy word.
With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments.
Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. Blessed art thou, O LORD: teach me thy statutes. With my lips have I declared all the judgments of thy mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of thy testimonies, as much as in all riches.
I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways. I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.”
Psalm 119:9-16

I write this in hopes that those struggling in temptations will know that they are not alone in the battles. We are all human, and struggle with everyday trials.

“Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.” Galatians 6:1

That the way to get out of it is to bury yourself in the Word of God, to commune with Christ, and to keep your eyes up at Heaven. For if your eyes are upward, the things here downward shouldn’t sway you. (Colossians 3:2, 5; Psalm 4)

Many blessings and prayers to my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, who are keeping on the firing line.

“Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin. For he that is dead is freed from sin. Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him: Knowing that Christ being raised from the dead dieth no more; death hath no more dominion over him. For in that he died, he died unto sin once: but in that he liveth, he liveth unto God. Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord. Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, that ye should obey it in the lusts thereof. Neither yield ye your members [as] instruments of unrighteousness unto sin: but yield yourselves unto God, as those that are alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness unto God. For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace.” Romans 6:6-14

By chance (?), Consider the Lilies wrote a post on “Overcoming Temptation” today. I will ask you to consider reading this post, as she gives great tips, that I myself will make sure to write down and keep in my Bible. Thank you, Ashlyn, for writing such a helpful article!

2 comments

  1. Wow! I am so glad I jumped over to see what you were writing. This was honest and insightful. I know that when I fail in temptation, its for the same reasons, a lack of spiritual discipline, fortitude, or for me, sheer selfishness. Thank you so much!

    1. Thank you, Helene!

      This was somewhat hard to publish, because it’s the most open I’ve been on my blog, thus far. But the Bible says to “confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another.” and felt like it needed to be written. :]

      Every time I fall, I try to come up just a little bit stronger, all thanks to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

      Many Blessings,
      Moriah Jordan Miller

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

