MONTHLY CHALLENGES: January-February 2013

I don’t really make New Years resolutions. If I had to make one, it’d have to be “discipline.” Discipline with my spiritual, physical, emotional, and mental health. I’ve had the desire for discipline for quite some time.

(I was really motivated to work on it when I read Discipline: The Glad Surrender by Elisabeth Elliot. I never finished reading it, and for whatever reason our local library no longer carries it. I’ll have to talk to them about that..)

With the Holidays over, and New Year has passed, everyone is off to accomplish their new goals and resolutions for the 2013 and to lose the holiday weight. Which works perfectly for someone like me, to “bum” off the new challenges and prizes that come with it. 😉

kettlebell

2nd Annual Kettlebell Challenge by CheeseSlave

A good, close friend of mine bought herself a Kettlebell, and I allowed her to be a guinea pig for me. (ha) I was curious about the kettlebell, but wasn’t sure whether I should invest money into it or not. It may just be another fad, I thought. Well, as she used the kettlebell, she got stronger, and noticed results. That sealed the deal for me, and I wanted one! But I can rather indecisive, and wondered when would be the best time. After summer, before the holidays, after the holidays? Would it be worth it? Is it something for me? (I typically overthink a little..)

Summer, fall, and the holidays came and went. I was sitting around, thinking what to do. It’s too cold to go out on daily walks anymore, activity was restricted for the indoors..At least I had a treadmill.

And then this happened. (Please visit CheeseSlave’s article to find details.)

I went to Walmart, bought a 10lb kettlebell. (Went back a few days later and got a 15lb one..) Reserved some books and DVD’s from the library, did some pinning on Pinterest. Four days into the competition, and I have completed two kettlebell work outs. And it’s not because I didn’t want to. I couldn’t. Kettlebell ain’t no joke, people. Take it slow.

There’s still a chance to join! You can at any time. You send in your before pictures, measurements, dress size, and weight, then whenever you workout you rack up 10 extra points for a chance to win select prizes! Those with pictures will be considered first, the weight and inches will be counted first before the points. The sooner you join, the better! Or, stick around and watch the progress, and then decide for yourself if Kettlebell is right for you!

Once the competition is over, I may or may not post my before and after pictures with info. 😉 (If I just so happen to win, I may not have a choice. xD)

gelatin-prize

6 Week Gelatin Challenge by The Coconut Mama

A couple months ago, I injured my lower back, and my dog suffered from some neurological and joint issues. So I convinced my Dad to purchase 5lbs of gelatin. 😉 As quoted from TheCoconutMama, “Gelatin is the cooked form of collagen made from the bones, skin, connective tissue and joints of animals. Gelatin is extremely nourishing to the body. It helps to repair the gut, promotes healing and growth in the body, is ani-inflammatory and is pro thyroid. Gelatin is also known to promote weight loss and reduce sagging skin and cellulite!”

I have been meaning, for since we have gotten the gelatin, to consume it on a daily basis, supplementing it for my joints, hair, nails, and skin. But I just never developed the habit.

Until I saw this. (Please check out The Coconut Mama’s blog post.)

Talk about motivation!

It is definitely not too late to sign up for this! You have to subscribe for her monthly newsletter, comment on which prize you would enjoy, and every time you consume gelatin in some form or another enter it on the Rafflecopter widget!

If you’re still unsure about gelatin, check out this blog post on 12 Unusual Uses of Gelatin!

Choose between the two..

young couple hug antidiet2

2013 Wellness Challenge by Wellness Mama

or

Anti-Diet Challenge by Our Nourishing Roots

Wellness Mama’s challenge contains different restrictions, follows a philosophy similar to that of the Weston A. Price Foundation, and isn’t as detailed, and exact, as the others. You sign up, comment three goals you have, and you’ll receive a challenge through email every once in a while. This challenge offers plenty of resources, and you’re on the honor system, so there’s no real accountability other than what you set up for yourself. (You can create a health journal on her forum.)

The Anti-Diet Challenge has no restrictions, follows a philosophy somewhat similar to that of the Weston A. Price Foundations, and gives you plenty of freedom and doesn’t really require much accountability, considering what you are doing. It follows along the ideas of Matt Stone (of 180 Degree Health) and his books Diet Recovery and Eat for Heat. The point is to heal your metabolism, and heat up your body. Eat what sounds good, drink when thirsty, follow a meal outline, record your temperature, take a nap when you need one, work out when you feel antsy, and get enough sleep at night. Basically, do what you want, in a healthy and safe manner. (I am tempted to put those in quotation marks, due to the controversial ideas of them.)

I first only saw WellnessMama’s challenge, and decided to join it, even though I knew I couldn’t follow it completely. I started to keep a meal log, but that’s just so tiring and pointless to me. I’d rather just keep a health journal. I didn’t really care for some of the food restrictions, and I don’t necessarily do the grocery shopping for the house. I’m only one person, my whole family isn’t/wouldn’t participate in this.

I then saw the Anti-Diet Challenge. It was after I was really thinking about these “bad” foods, such as sugar, grains, tubers, starches, etc., so it was convenient. I’m really trying to apply “all things in moderation” in my life.

The Anti-Diet challenge is not promoting the Standard American Diet (SAD) by any means. Just looking at the blog owners title, “Our Nourishing Roots”, tells you it’s something different. She promotes real, whole food that nourishes the body. Food close to the source. Less processed, not corrupted by man (GMO, pesticides), following traditional methods (sprouting, fermenting, properly cooked, raw, etc.), and, what I find, makes you feel good.

I think that WellnessMama’s challenge is really about discipline and restriction, while the Anti-Diet is about discipline and freedom.

That may sound biased, but it’s not. Some desire one or the other. Make your choice, and if you wish to join one, do so! If not, I do encourage you to observe (like I am) to see results and the ideas and philosophies behind it. (Assuming that, since you’ve made it this far, you care about health. LOL Otherwise, sorry for the wasted time!)

These are the challenges that I am currently involved in/watching! Feel free to check any of them out, and join yourself! I felt like it was very convenient, seeing how I wanted to do all of this, and now I have a chance to win prizes! 😉

20130107-201519.jpg

But I keep under my body, and bring [it] into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.” 1 Corinthians 9:27

“Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.” Philemon 4:5

“And there came a voice to him, Rise, Peter; kill, and eat. But Peter said, Not so, Lord; for I have never eaten any thing that is common or unclean.And the voice [spake] unto him again the second time, What God hath cleansed, [that] call not thou common.” Acts 10:12-15

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

