On Biblical Womanhood

Pathway in Woods

About two years ago, I started a new page in my life. I started to focus and look at myself as a woman. Before that time I looked at myself as a Christian, human, citizen, child, American, etc. I grew with this mindset, not thinking much else to it. I was growing in Christ, but had, for the most part, stalled. It was my desire to solve this problem, if there was one.

Around the same time I was changing a lot of the way I was living and looking at life. I changed my philosophy on education, and health. I looked at the way I was living, how others were living, and figured there had to be a better way. Looking back, it doesn’t surprise me that I would also change the way I looked at Biblical womanhood.

All this time, I hadn’t looked at myself as a female from a Biblical perspective. I wasn’t just a human being growing in Christ, I was a woman growing in Him. I will give credit to my Dad; he did make mention of our duties and role as women, such as the topic of modesty and femininity. But I wasn’t raised by a Christian mother, and for the most part, I was raised by a single father. It never really sunk in, and I didn’t have an in-home example to watch and learn from. (Titus 2:35)

From those around me, I was taught Galatians 3:28. (“There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus.”) We were all equal. There was no real difference. We just need to grow in Christ, be good Christians, obey God’s commandments, preach the Gospel, read His Word, and live our lives for Him. All that is good and well, unless you leave out some of God’s commandments, and ignore portions of His Word.

Satan would like you to think that Women and Men are to live exactly the same, and have identical roles in life. He would like you to think that by doing this you have reached “equality”, and escaped from”evil patriarchy”. That the Old Testament, and parts of the New Testament, were bound and defined by the culture of that time, and thus no longer applicable to those in this modern century. You could just go with what many modern Christians believe; that the Bible is not the infallible Word of God and needs to be corrected! These new versions, according to Laodicean Christians (Revelation 3:13-16), make Gods purpose for us much more clear and accurate, you see. (Please note heavy sarcasm.) They use “watered-down baby Bibles” (a term coined by my Dad, pastor of Bible Believers Fellowship.) which distort, take out, and cause confusion regarding our roles as Men and Women in the Bible. (1 Corinthians 14:33)

Yes, going back to Galatians 3:28, on a spiritual level, we are all “one in Christ”. But if you read the Bible, you cannot deny that God has set separate roles for Men and Women in the Bible.

“Let the woman learn in silence with all subjection. But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve.” 1 Timothy 2:13-14

“But I would have you know, that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman is the man; and the head of Christ is God.” 1 Corinthians 11:3

“The aged women likewise, that [they be] in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things; That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.” Titus 2:3-5

“Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives; While they behold your chaste conversation [coupled] with fear. Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; But let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price. For after this manner in the old time the holy women also, who trusted in God, adorned themselves, being in subjection unto their own husbands: Even as Sara obeyed Abraham, calling him lord: whose daughters ye are, as long as ye do well, and are not afraid with any amazement.” 1 Peter 3:1-6

(Notice in 1 Peter 3:1-6 that Peter states “For after this manner in the old time the holy women also…”. So much for the whole “cultural” argument.)

The most important detail?

“And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto the man. And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.” Genesis 2:22-23

“Neither was the man created for the woman; but the woman for the man.” 1 Corinthians 11:9

We are different. We were created that way. God intended for us to be that way.

As a result, we have different roles.

In the day where we are in a constant rat race, constantly competing for self-worth, trying to live up to the standards the world has set for us, it can be difficult for men and women to obey God’s commandments. But because they are difficult, does this mean we should not follow them through?

I am not asking for Women to up and change their lives according my standards, or anyone’s standards. (We should try to live up to Gods standards.) I am asking that you prayerfully read, and consider the evidence that the Bible provides for us. Each family is unique, and different, with its own issues to consider. I do ask that you not simply excuse yourself, and live in ignorance.

Get as close as you can to the Word of God! If you cannot, say, be a stay-at-home wife/mother, then try to complete home duties as much as you can! Make your home a haven! Strive to be a good helpmeet to your husband. Take every opportunity you can to train your children. Always have charity on your heart and mind. Keep your role in mind, and follow what God has instructed us to do. You can be sure that God will bless you for any effort you make.

He didn’t give us His commandments in order for them to be a burden on us. Sin is the burden. His word is a blessing.

But, I also have a suggestion for women out there who do believe they are living a life of “Biblical womanhood”. Whether you work, or stay at home. Whether educate your children at home, or send your children to an institution. Treat the scripture given to us as a mirror. As my Dad instructed me, “What happens when you take a mirror, and hit it over someone else’s head? It breaks.”

God did not give us scripture to constantly judge and condemn others. (Matthew 7:1-6) We are called to be humble. (James 4:6) If you do have an issue with someone of a Biblical nature, please handle it in a scriptural manner. (Matthew 18:15-20) But as the young ones say, “Check yourself, before you wreck yourself.” šŸ˜‰

I pray that this has been edifying for you, and stirred up some thought, and desire to learn more.

Thank you for reading!

One comment

  1. […] two recent posts, “Life of a Stay At Home Daughter” and “On Biblical Womanhood“, would inform you that I do support and encourage young ladies to stay under the authority […]

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

