Good Enough?

Droopy Ear'd Sunflower

“His seed shall endure for ever, and his throne as the sun before me.” Psalm 89:36

Here is my lovely sunflower.

It is one of three on the property. It is pleasant to look at; it’s eye level, a nice size, has beautiful petals, and a good strong stem.

It was planted where its roots could grow somewhat, got a good amount of water, and received plenty of love, due to the fact that it welcomes you to the house along the pathway.

It could have gotten better care. It could have gotten more room for roots, more watering, more nutrients, more mulching..but what I gave it was just enough to make it pretty and grow fine.

I could have done more, but I didn’t.

This can be applied to many things in our lives.

I could have studied a little more on something, and perhaps I would have been a little more fluent in it.

If I had dedicated myself more to follow the instructions to something, perhaps the outcome would have came out a little better.

Maybe if I created a good schedule and stuck to it, things would get done in a more timely order.

You do just enough to get you buy; for it to be acceptable, and things turn out fine.

You could have done better, but you didn’t.

Is this right?

“And whatsoever ye do, do [it] heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ.” Colossians 3:23-24, AV.

I should have tilled the ground better. I should have fertilized it more. I should have watered it regularly. I should have mulched it better so it could retain water when I wasn’t there to water it; a back up plan. If I had, perhaps it would have turned out to be a respectable, mammoth sunflower.

Don’t get me wrong; this is a beautiful, delightful sunflower. Brightens your day by just looking at it for a second. The bee’s sure do love and seem to appreciate it!

But my goal as a gardener is to do the best I can for the plants; not to please men and say, “Well, that’s good enough.” I shouldn’t avoid work simply because what I did was “okay”.

Aim high, work hard!

We shouldn’t work to please men. We shouldn’t do just enough to get by. We should work to please God, as unto Christ, and with all our might.

2 comments

  1. Just found you on Pinterest and I was so WOW with all your pins……..it’s so lovely to find someone with like minded values!
    I hope you come to be a midwife in PA.

  2. Thank you, Jane! Glad we’re of kindred hearts!

    I may just have to visit someday in the future. 😉

Leave a Reply

That I Might Have Life

He came that I might have life, and have it abundantly. - John 10:10

anotherbrothermark

Just another WordPress.com site

Girls for God

encouraging young ladies to live their lives for their Savior in this world of silent persecution

The Vine Vigil

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 1 Peter 5:8

All Things Healthy and Refreshing!

......I love life as simple as it gets. In the purest form!

Micaela Writes

~ to tell you my story is to tell of Him ~ Psalm 19:14 ~

Eclectic Kettlebell

Eclectic: not following any one system, but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems

In Skirts And Wellies

I'm Just A Feminine Farmgirl

Urocyon's Meanderings

"The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret." -- T. Pratchett

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

